Posted by: Hannah | 06/10/2010

so THIS is wordpress – ooh, shiny

I first started blogging in early 2006.  I was convinced no one would ever read it.  I didn’t know the first thing about getting readers, building an online identity while protecting my privacy (and that of my family).  I couldn’t imagine a day when I would want to blog about anything too sensitive for my real-life community.

I was on maternity leave with my first child, I was in a 1600 square foot house that we shared with my father in law, we had one car and no public transit.

I was desperate for people to read what I wrote.  I wanted so much to reach out.

So I made a pretty common mistake.

I told every single person I knew that I had started a blog.

I talked about my blog.  A lot.  I emailed the link to friends in other cities.  When I joined Facebook, I posted my blog there too.  If I had thought of it at the time, I would have put my blog on a T-shirt.

I met some great people.  I had brief hero worship / love affairs with dooce, herbadmother, redneck mommy.  I was dying to know how they did it.  I had fantasies about “monetizing” my blog, about getting a book deal.  I was a walking, talking cliché.

As time passed though, it got weird.  And then weirder.  My husband read my blog every day.  “To find out what’s going on in my life,” he joked one day.  So I couldn’t blog about him, and about how our relationship has changed since the kids arrived.  My father in law joined Facebook and suddenly I couldn’t blog about him any more, either.  My youngest sister started reading, so writing about my sex life was out.  My other sister started reading it too, so I couldn’t rant about her boyfriend and how I just can’t warm up to him.  (Plus, I found out she had a blog before me, still has one, and won’t let me read it, ever.  That should have told me something right there).

I realized one day that once I ran through the mental list of all the things I couldn’t blog about because it might offend / upset / annoy or just plain gross out someone I cared about, I had nothing left but my grocery list.

And here we are.

I’ve learned a lot since those early days.  I’m using WordPress this time, not Blogger.  (And oh my goodness, the CHOICES with WordPress!  The headers!  The fonts!  I’m all giddy.  And planning to take a better photo for the header).  I’m going to be totally anonymous here.  I’m linked with my Twitter account – I’ve changed the name to match this one, and made my updates public.

I will not censor myself.  I have met some incredible, strong, brave women who put it all out there in their writing.  I aspire to be more like that.  I am excited by this.  In this space, I’m going to write a little bit about everything.  I hope you like it.

Responses

  1. i always wondered if me not being more private hurt my marriage…so being anon-great idea girl. 😀

  2. YAY! Am seriously tempted to go this way as well!

  3. I think it’s a great idea. Too many people I don’t want read my current blog, for very similar reasons!


Leave a Reply

Categories

