Posted by: Hannah | 10/10/2010

it’s a turkey

Anniversary dinner was a success, even though I cooked it while simultaneously putting two sick children to bed, baking three pies (one pumpkin, two apple), and cleaning the kitchen for the fourth time in five hours.  Yummy local steak with my special marinade that is, and I will not beat around the bush here, the nicest thing you can do for your steak; and lobster mashed potatoes, which I saw on TV once and decided to try and replicate.

Let me just say this.  If I ever go to the US, and murder someone, and get caught and convicted and land on death row, my final meal damn well better include lobster mashed potatoes.  I’m pretty sure they get served every day in the cafeteria in heaven.

We shared a bottle of wine and I got pretty squiffed, because Thing #2 hasn’t slept through the night in at least two months and I’m chronically overtired.  So we did it like ice weasels and that was fun.

And then Thing #2 started in.  He was up something like five times last night?  I lost count.  Ultimately to save time I curled up on his bedroom floor with a blanket and a teddy bear for a pillow.  By 6am he was in our bed, and I was just starting to think I *might* get some more sleep when Thing #1 got up complaining and coughing and banging around in the bathroom.  By the time I got him settled I was wide awake and so I’ve been wandering the internet for the last hour and a half, wishing I had some new blogs to read and mulling over everything I have to do today in prep for hosting Thanksgiving dinner with the family this afternoon.

It’s hard to be thankful when one hasn’t slept for more than 90 minutes at a stretch for months.  But I’ll do my best.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Responses

  1. Boo! I hope you get some rest soon. Sheesh, people, let a lady get some sleep! At least you got the wine. And the, um, ice weasel thing.

  2. Please share the lobster mashed potato recipe (what’s better than lobsters and potatoes together? That’s right – nothing). Thanks!

  3. Sure. I’m hopeless on amounts, though – I saw it on some TV talk show in reruns one morning, so I have all the ingredients but I just totally guessed on how much of everything needed.

    So:

    1.5 lbs or so of small red potatoes, unpeeled
    1.5 lbs lobster, cooked and shelled
    5 green onions, chopped
    3 large cloves garlic, peeled but not chopped
    sea salt
    fresh ground pepper
    heavy cream
    2% milk
    3 tbsp butter

    Chop the potatoes into quarters. Add potatoes and peeled garlic to enough water to cover. Boil until fork-tender. Drain and mash.

    In a small saucepan, heat heavy cream, milk, butter, and cooked lobster – just until the butter is melted and the lobster is heated through. Add milk mixture and chopped green onions to smashed potatoes and mix until desired consistency. Add salt & pepper to taste. (If you use salted butter, you probably won’t need to add more salt – but it’s up to you).

    Freakin’ awesome, I’m telling you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

