Posted by: Hannah | 10/26/2010

so many babies

A good friend was asking on Twitter the other night how my home daycare is going.  (Then James started screaming that the sticker on his arm was too scary, and another night of up-and-down commenced – so I never answered).

The short answer is – it’s going well.

I mean, it’s a big adjustment.  I have to spend my evenings catching up on chores because I sure as hell can’t do them during the day any more.  I have to cook most meals the night before I actually want to eat them, too.  My own two kids are even clingier than usual because until the “extra” kids go home, they don’t have as much of my attention as they want.

I’m pretty sure I haven’t had sex since the daycare started in earnest, because I am too tired by the end of the day to even feign interest in being manhandled by anyone else.

But it’s fun.

The kids overall are younger than I had originally hoped.  Right now I have:

1. my own Thing #2 – aged 2.5 years

2. my niece, Jelly Bean – aged 1 year on Hallowe’en

3. a friend’s son, Screamapillar – aged 10 months

4. a total stranger’s son, starting next week so I have no blogname for him yet – aged 2 years

Also occasionally another 1 year old and a 9 month old, with a good chance that the 9 month old will go to full time starting after Christmas.

I can’t have any more than six children under my care at any one time, including my own.  Juggling some of the part-timers has been difficult and I would really prefer to just have three full time kids, plus my niece.

The dog has lost weight since this all started because he takes it upon himself to offer moral support and hang around the children, but having his whiskers constantly pulled and his tail sat on is making him twitchy.  So his appetite is off.  The kitten loves the extra attention and the adult cats are punishing me in new and interesting ways.

It’s crazy.  It’s noisy.  It’s chaotic and messy and satisfying and so much more enjoyable than the contract-from-hell job.  Sometimes I just sit on the floor with babies crawling on me and laugh out loud at how much easier they are to manage than one meeting with those bullying assholes I worked for last year.

I’m a very lucky woman.

Now, if I could just find a sister-wife to keep hubby happy…

 

Responses

  1. i’m glad. it sounds like fun, it really does!


Leave a Reply

Categories

