Posted by: Hannah | 03/28/2011

politics make me stabby

Today, Stephen Harper is promising a giant massive tax cut. A huge tax cut. One that would save the average Canadian family $1300 annually. It would save me money, I know that. A lot of money.

He’s promising to implement income-splitting – in essence, allowing couples to “share” up to $50,000 of income at tax time between them. In our house, where Hubby makes more than double what I do, this would have a definite positive impact on our tax burden.

Sounds good, right?

There is a catch though, and it’s a biggie. This fabulous wonderful slapdabulous tax cut will ONLY be implemented if Stevie is Prime Minister of a majority government in…

wait for it…

2016.

And that’s if – a big if – the budget is balanced by then. While I support income-splitting, and have done since the Green Party first presented it in their party platform back in 2008, it is a very expensive measure; one that the country can’t afford right now. Harper’s not stupid, and he knows it’s not possible now, so he’s dangling it in front of Canadian voters like I dangle the promise of chocolate milk in front of my kids if they behave at swimming lessons.

Even Alice during her trip through Wonderland knew this kind of thinking was wrong-headed:

“I’m sure I’ll take you with pleasure!” the Queen said. “Two pence a week, and jam every other day.”

Alice couldn’t help laughing, as she said, “I don’t want you to hire ME – and I don’t care for jam.”

“It’s very good jam,” said the Queen.

“Well, I don’t want any TO-DAY, at any rate.”

“You couldn’t have it if you DID want it,” the Queen said. “The rule is, jam to-morrow and jam yesterday – but never jam to-day.”

“It MUST come sometimes to “jam to-day,”” Alice objected.

“No, it can’t,” said the Queen. “It’s jam every OTHER day: to-day isn’t any OTHER day, you know.”

“I don’t understand you,” said Alice. “It’s dreadfully confusing!”

Canada’s Conservative Party: Jam tomorrow and jam yesterday, but never jam today.

***

With most sincere thanks to Lewis Carroll.

Responses

  1. Spot on.

  2. My god, he is so transparent it makes me ill. An eventual bribe. Good lord.

  3. Meanwhile, b/c I’ve been out of the country so long I can’t register to vote. Which I would do if I could if for no other reason than I’d love to see him gone. Poof.

  4. Such an excellent quote.

  5. Quadelle, I’ve often wondered – what is the time limit for ex-pats voting here?


Leave a Reply

Categories

