Posted by: Hannah | 04/13/2011

well, hellooo there

Warning: This post is about my sex life again. So if you are a male friend of mine who doesn’t want to hear this, move along – nothing to see here.

***

A few months back I posted about my cursed Mirena IUD and how I was pretty sure it was causing my libido problems. Which is a nice way of saying I became convinced that the devil-device was making me feel lethargic and like sex was a giant bother, somewhere above taking out the garbage but way below playing free hidden object games on my laptop late at night. After talking it over with hubby and getting his begrudging agreement that maybe it was his turn to take responsibility for the birth control for awhile, I had it removed. And waited with bated breath to see what would happen.

Gradually, I *did* start to feel better. Lost a little weight, too. Probably water weight but I didn’t feel so bloated. I had to get used to periods and a once-a-month please-find-me-a-trephening-drill migraines but otherwise, I was pretty content.

And then, this past month – OH DEAR LORD HELLO HUSBAND COME OVER HERE WHY DOES OUR BEDROOM DOOR NOT HAVE A LOCK AND WHERE DID ALL THESE BOTHERSOME CHILDREN COME FROM PERHAPS THERE IS SOMETHING ON TV THEY WOULD LIKE TO WATCH.

It’s like being a teenager again. Or, my husband tells me, a man. Except now I have responsibilities, and things I need to get done, and a hundred and one items to remember, and being constantly distracted by the slightest little sideways look or episode of True Blood season 1 is both amusing and annoying.

I don’t remember that when Stella got her groove back, it meant that she forgot to pay the cable bill or put the bread in the fridge and the ham in the breadbasket.

 

Responses

  1. Ok, I’m definitely going with a copper one. Dr. Gooch told me that the mirena uses such minuscule amounts of hormones that it “isn’t enough to have any kind of hormonal effect”. But since I’ve had libido problems on hormonal bc before, I don’t see the point in taking the chance, and paying an extra 150 bucks to do so. (Okay, so my husband’s plan would cover most of it and it would really be an extra 40 bucks but STILL).

    Also, “somewhere above taking out the garbage but way below playing free hidden object games on my laptop late at night.” – what an excellent way to describe it!

    Also also … you sure you aren’t pregnant? It can cause hormone surges :-p

  2. Oh man, it sounds like your reaction to the IUD was precisely like my reaction to the birth control I was on DURING OUR HONEYMOON. Yeah. That was fun. Apparently fake hormones and I don’t get along too well either.

    I’m glad its effects wore off *wink wink*

    • Not half as glad as hubby is. 😉

  3. I don’t think it’s the change (or lack thereof) in birth control that has improved your libido, I think it’s the inclusion of True Blood in your life (oh Eric and Bill!). I also highly recommend the L Word and Queer as Folk as libido stimulators.

  4. oh lordie, when the libido comes back, isn’t it GLORIOUS! Moods have a lot to do with it too, (and Eric. PURRRRRR) Enjoy girl. I wish I was close enough to take the kids off your hands for some nooners 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

