Posted by: Hannah | 06/22/2011

tooting my own horn

You know what gives me a really good feeling?

When one of my clients gets pregnant, and asks if a) I can reserve a full time space now for her new baby because she doesn’t want the little one going anywhere but here; and b) if I can keep taking her son (a sweet kid) for before & after school once he climbs on the big yellow bus starting next September.

The trust that they have in me and the love they feel for my family is humbling, and makes up for an awful lot of the bad experiences I’ve had with New Kid and his family over the past couple of months.

I don’t get performance reviews in this gig, or raises. I don’t get taken out to lunch by the boss for a job well done, or told to go home early on a Friday afternoon after an especially busy week.

But the thought that these clients want to be entwined with me and my family for the next six years… that’s pretty sweet. And despite a poor night’s sleep, an early waking, and mediating several fist fights (already), today, I feel good.

Responses

  1. Aww, that is sweet. A total vote of confidence in you, for sure. But I’m not surprised! 🙂

  2. That’s nice. It’s a ringing endorsement of your care and your love.

  3. Go you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

