Posted by: Hannah | 07/06/2011

13w4d

This week my pregnant belly suddenly started to look pregnant, as opposed to just the belly of someone who overindulged in chips. I rummaged out my maternity clothes only to realize that none of them fit terribly well… my summer maternity wardrobe all dates from 2005, when Thing #1 was born. At the end of July. So – huge. Massive. Like tents. Flowery tents. Ugh. I’ve been wearing the same non-maternity skirt neatly tucked up under my protruding belly and a series of faded t-shirts.

I’ve also started to feel little fluttery butterfly sensations, and while I know every pregnancy book & website will tell you that this is impossible, they are wrong, because having done this twice before I know fetal movement when it happens. I’m quite relieved, actually. I haven’t heard the heartbeat yet (I have an appointment tonight so that should clear things up) and while I know damn well that I am still pregnant (the food cravings / aversions! the getting up all night long to pee! the puffy toes! the luxuriant hair & super-strong nails!) it’s nerve-wracking to not have that little reassurance that things are progressing as they should.

Both boys are now aware that mommy has a baby in her tummy. Thing #1 is dealing by being super-protective. He rubs my belly if I stand still long enough (I hate having people touch my pregnant stomach. Yes, even my precious firstborn. But I don’t want to hurt his feelings, so I just try not to stay in one place for too long.) Thing #2 will go for days without mentioning it, and then bring it up totally at random. Thing #1 wants a girl, Thing #2 wants a boy. They are both excited – I think – although at this point they are far more excited about our vacation in a couple of weeks.

I’m still awfully tired all the time – this pregnancy gig is much different when one has an office job and an understanding boss. I haven’t taken any sick days yet – after all, I inconvenience a LOT of people if I can’t work – but some days I’ve been less engaged than I’d like. Also, storytime has become this weird torture. I don’t know why exactly, but reading aloud has become intolerable. I get incredibly thirsty. I stumble over words I know perfectly well. Storytime has gone from being my favourite part of the day to the bit I rush through because I freakin’ hate it, no idea why. Suffice it to say I was quietly thrilled when I looked at the calendar this morning and realized I only have twelve more working days until my vacation. It’s needed.

In summation – still tired, less barfy, hair fabulous, nails ditto, desperately needing a burst of second trimester energy in order to pack for said vacation.

Responses

  1. My kids are 17.5 months apart. One was born in late March, the other in mid-Sept. My maternity clothes did not overlap, season wise, one bit. Also I was working in an office with #1 and at home with #2. That is a wide variety of maternity clothing needs.

  2. For some reason I think it’s adorable that Thing 1 wants a girl.

  3. i’m just sitting here beaming at you and your belly and the heartbeat you heard today. 🙂

  4. I felt the fluttering early with #3 as well. I remember when we found out we were having our 3rd boy,we gave our oldest an,”It’s a boy” bubble gum cigar to reveal the news. He read it as follows. “IT”S A Boooooy. Oh.” Kind of glad,for the sake of our youngest, that we didn’t get the underwhelmed moment on video. ; )
    With the heat,just remember to take breaks for yourself when you need them. I can’t imagine having to tackle everything that’s on your pregnancy plate. Take Care!!

  5. I’m so sorry that I didn’t know you were pregnant until just now. Quitting Twitter has meant that I’m totally out of the loop.

    But I’m thrilled to hear this news! Congratulations in abundance!


Leave a Reply

Categories

