Posted by: Hannah | 10/30/2011

NaBloPoMo

Maybe it’s just me, but “NaBloPoMo” sounds like the punchline to an off-colour joke teenaged boys would giggle at.

However, November is fast approaching and it is always always ALWAYS my toughest month. Every year I need something to focus on or by the time December rolls around I’m burned out, 10 pounds heavier, and weeping every day at least once.

I think this will be the kick in the pants I need to remember to take time every day – even if it’s only a few minutes – to do something that’s for me. Important, as the pregnancy progresses and my nesting instincts override my common sense about not trying to do too much.

So. Probably taking tomorrow off, as I’ve got the dayhome Hallowe’en party tomorrow. (No costumes, as we’re decorating graham-cracker houses with icing. But we’ll be making monster masks out of paper bags, I think). Then as soon as the last kid leaves and we get some supper, off to trick or treat with Harry Potter and his sidekick, an astronaut. I’ll probably post a picture or two before I rifle through their candy bags.

Responses

  1. Good luck! I’ve never managed to complete a NaBloPoMo myself. I was sort of considering NaNoWriMo but I think that’s more than I can manage right now.

    • The very notion of NaNoWriMo makes my heart race and my palms sweat. That’s just not achievable for me right now. I’m hopeful that this will work. I have started two photo projects in the last year and ran out of steam on both, so I’m feeling a bit tender about work undone these days.

  2. i also get sweaty thinking of having to do anything every day, especially something creative (truth is, even getting up and getting kids out the door and laundry folded weighs heavily on me.) i think i have performance anxiety. huh. uh…thank you for that unscheduled personal revelation? good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

