Posted by: Hannah | 11/25/2011

the one where i get all maudlin

Yes, this is my second post in a day, but I missed a day last week so I’m playing catch up.

Arthur’s mom went into labour very early this morning. He’s been with me all day because routine is important for preschoolers, but his mom is heading into the hospital soon and wants to see him before that happens.

He doesn’t want to go home.

He’s not sure about this whole new-baby thing. He’s had people saying for months now how exciting! and awesome!! and YOU’LL BE A BIG BROTHER!!! this all is… but today he was very quiet and kind of weepy.

I took him aside and said “Are you excited, buddy? Or not really sure?”

“I’m not really sure,” he said. “I don’t know if babies are very much fun”.

I gave him a hug and reminded him that he’ll be coming here every day, just like always, so he can get a bit of a break from all the baby stuff. I know what he’s going through, kind of, although I honestly don’t remember when my first little sibling came home from the hospital. I do remember the next two, and while yes, it is exciting, it’s also disruptive and older sibs tend to get lost in the shuffle until things settle down again.

Little dude, he’s such a sweet kid and such a part of the family I would totally let him stay here tonight if it wouldn’t mortally offend his aunt, who’s been deputized for the occasion and is taking him to her house for the night.

It’s a hell of a thing, really. I have no idea if he’ll be staying with us beyond Christmas, on a part-time basis. I hope so. My family will miss him when he goes. I’ve spent five days a week, 8 hours a day with him for almost a year… it feels kind of sad to know that it’s coming to an end.

Responses

  1. I can only imagine how sad it is to be in your shoes, possibly losing contact with a little one that you have had such an impact on. I hope he enjoys his new baby sibling. I know my own son was VERY put out by the arrival of his sister and he plotted to remove her from the scene every chance he had. Thankfully that got over that and he seems happy enough that she’s around.


Leave a Reply

Categories

