Posted by: Hannah | 12/04/2011

in which i abandon all shame

You know what’s horrible?

Being 35 weeks and 3 days pregnant, and getting a coughing fit while folding four loads of laundry.

And you can’t stop coughing for some reason, and the coughing gets worse and worse until you vomit.

And you catch the vomit with some of the clean laundry.

So you run to the bathroom / laundry room with a bundle of puke laundry. And your darling husband comes in and starts rubbing your back. And you start coughing again and lo, thus comes yet more vomit, startling you completely so that you are over the sink, not the toilet.

Now the sink is clogged with puke, so you suddenly remember the toilet, and you dive for it STILL PUKING, and because your stomach is now (mostly) empty your poor overworked diaphragm is trying too hard, and then it happens.

You are throwing up and peeing yourself at the same time.

Did I mention that while this is happening your poor husband is busy trying to clear the sink? Because yeah, that too.

***

At least the Christmas tree is done.

 

Responses

  1. Oof, Hannah, that is totally doing it rough. I really hope you’re feeling better soon.

    • I’m clinging to the faint hope that Ron was born about a week after a similarly horrendous puking episode.

  2. Oh honey. I’m having yet another nuclear-headache weepy Monday so, um, wait, what’s my point? I can empathize in a weird, lateral kind of way? Feel good that at least while feeling wretched you’re growing a whole person while I am doing nothing except blog surfing and feeling sorry for myself?

  3. Ohhh I’m so sorry. That sounds awful 😦

  4. Ack! Oh, how I hated the pregnancy puking. I always lived in fear that I would have an episode like that at work. Thankfully, only ever at home.

    • During my second pregnancy I threw up in the garbage can under my desk at work once… but that time I didn’t pee simultaneously. It was the pee that pushed it over the edge into “dear lord, WHY?”


Leave a Reply

Categories

