Posted by: Hannah | 12/24/2011

Merry Christmas!

Christmas Eve, just before 6AM.

We had big plans for this morning; namely, getting up when the kids do (instead of sleeping in a bit while they watch cartoons) and heading into town for some last-minute shopping at the farmer’s market. I need potatoes, carrots, and brussels sprouts for dinner; also sausages for breakfast tomorrow once the presents are opened; and since I am housebound much of the time and did my gift shopping back in October I feel like I need to exchange Christmas greetings with many random folks in order to really get in the spirit.

But the best-laid plans and all that… Hubs woke up an hour ago with a headache so bad it pulled him out of a sound sleep, and Harry got up soon afterward complaining of pains in his stomach. Got Hubs medicated and settled back down to rest, then offered comfort while poor Harry bolted for the bathroom and exploded out both ends. They’re both asleep now but of course I’m up, and I’ll soon make a pot of coffee and start my day, hoping against hope that they both feel better (and that Ron and I don’t catch it, whatever it is).

I hope that wherever you are and whatever your plans for the holidays, you are with the people you love… that your stress levels aren’t too unreasonable… that you find some time for you in the midst of all the bustling around making things happen for other people. May your stockings be full of awesome, your turkey be moist, and your coffee always have eggnog.

 

Responses

  1. Poor Harry! I hope it’s just a one off thing, and he’s feeling better before dinner tonight!

    • It comes and goes. He bounced out of bed at 6:30 saying he felt fine and wanted to go to the market… so we did… and he barfed all over the floor next to the German bakery stall. 😦 But then he ate breakfast and says he’s OK. So, who knows.

  2. Geez, you just can’t catch a break, can you? You finally get a day with only your own kids to look after and one of them is barfy. I hope it passes quickly, and I admire your equanimity in the face of it all. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a fast easy labour before or in the new year.

  3. I am grateful for you, Hannah. Merry Xmas.

  4. Poor Harry! I hope it’s done and gone by now, and that no one else gets sick. Merry Christmas, anyway! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

