Posted by: Hannah | 01/20/2012

so this is weird…

… Baby G seems to have a direct line from his right nostril to his stomach, because at some point after every meal he fusses a bit, kicks his legs frantically, burps, and then has milk shoot out his nose.

With both Harry and Ron, I had supply issues. So far, this is not a problem with G. If anything, I think I may be making too much for him to manage, because when he eats it’s a frantic gulping exercise, and he literally nurses until milk starts coming back out of every orifice in his head.

He’s also going through way more diapers than the other two did at this age.

To clarify – the boys were always solidly 50th percentile for weight and 80th or higher for height. They are still, at 6 and nearly four, tallish for their age and slim (buying pants that fit is a constant pain in the ass). There was never any concern expressed that they weren’t getting enough to eat.

But compared to my nieces, they always looked a bit stick-like. And I wonder now how hungry they were, before they started (earlier than recommended, both of them) on solids.

He has his two-week weight check this afternoon, and I’m very curious to see how he’s getting on. He looks and feels bigger to me, and the sleepers he wore that first week are looking a little snug now. This is the first time I’ve really done 100% demand feeding – with the older boys I was trying too hard to make them get on a ‘feeding schedule’, which just frustrated all of us – and I’d like to know what difference it will make.

But anyway… anyone out there who made lots o’ milk, you ever had the whole “and then it came out my NOSE!!” issue? Just wondering. It doesn’t seem to upset him unduly, but I know I hate it when liquids come out of my nose, so I can’t help but think it’s maybe uncomfortable for him. And I’m wondering how you can tell when you are making maybe a bit too much milk and should be pumping first, or something, because this is definitely an area I have zero experience with and I don’t want to accidentally drown the poor fellow while congratulating myself on lactating LIKE A BOSS.

 

Responses

  1. This happened to me for the Girl and the Boy, or something similar anyway. For me it wasn’t over-supply, it was over-active let down. The milk came out too fast for their poor little newborn selves to handle. Block-feeding helped a lot (here’s a link explaining it http://www.mother-2-mother.com/blockfeeding.htm ), until they were old enough to handle my fountainous bewbs. I found that it started to get better at 6 weeks, and they stopped choking completely around 3 months. On the up side, it makes for very efficient feedings 🙂

    • Block feeding! Yes! I totally forgot about that! I did that too until he got big enough to not be bothered with the letdown thing.

  2. Xander’s milk never shot out of his nose, but I definitely made too much for him to handle when he drank out of my right boob. Yup, just the right one. My right boob has always been bigger, and when it came to producing milk…well, I was the mom who could shoot milk across the room, or who, upon letdown, would basically just be spraying milk out of that nipple. It was INSANE. (There’s no such thing as TMI when it comes to nursing, right? :P)

    For the first month AT LEAST, Xander would end up pulling off and choking from that boob because (I think) it was essentially shooting straight down his throat. I started milking myself before latching him on so that it wouldn’t drown him. I didn’t do it enough to up my supply even more, just enough to get past the initial letdown craziness. After that, it was better.

    On the bright side, once he got a little bigger he LOVED that boob. He didn’t have to work for milk AT ALL. Maybe it’ll be the same for you.

    I imagine that on-demand nursing would make a BIG difference in terms of your supply, at the very least.

    Also, the name “Baby G” makes me giggle, because Xander’s in-utero nickname was BabyG (you know…because of the last name).

  3. I made so much milk I could have fed a village, and after Angus ate he burped up a river out of mouth and nose – it’s stupid how long it took me to figure out I should move off the carpet and burp him over linoleum. It didn’t bother him at all, and he was fat and happy. I only ever pumped to store, and I fed on demand and he ate ALL THE TIME for the first few months. By all means ask your doctor, but this was my experience.

  4. I…have no idea. But I did want to tell you that my kids were always in the 25th percentile for weight and the 60-75th for height. They are string beans. Seriously seriously skinny. But they seem pretty healthy and for the most part I think it’s genetics at play (my husband was 5’11” and 135 pounds at his high school graduation, although obviously he’s filled out now).

  5. I had a combination of over-supply and over-active letdown. Green poops are the real sign that there’s a problem – they mean that the baby is getting too much fore-milk and not enough hind milk. The block-feeding link that Grace posted gives good advice on dealing with over-supply – but I wouldn’t change anything unless you’re seeing consistently green poop. If the baby is coming off the breast and spluttering (which mine always did when they were little) you may find that at about three months of age or so the baby will do a nursing strike for about 24 hours or so. Nursing strikes are miserable, but short-lived and they serve to correct the milk supply a bit and ease up on the over-active letdown.

  6. Milk never came out Owl’s nose, but that’s probably because he was too busy barfing it up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

