Posted by: Hannah | 11/03/2012

good morning!

I had eight and a half hours of uninterrupted sleep last night, which means right now I feel less like this:

 

And more like this:

 

I know there are people who say sleep training is cruel, or unnecessary, or not worth the effort, or what have you. And for very young babies, I happen to agree. But for almost ten month olds who yesterday ate:

  • a large bowl of oatmeal with blueberres
  • 2 small boxes of raisins
  • a whole banana
  • half an orange
  • half a chicken sandwich
  • a serving of cheddar cheese
  • half a rice cake stolen from another baby
  • a salmon fish cake
  • a serving of baked beans
  • half an apple
  • a cup of cow’s milk
  • oh, and nursed three times too, don’t forget that

These babies do not need to nurse at night. These babies are not hungry at night. So I night-weaned, and lo, Baby G did stop waking at night every couple of hours just to nuzzle the goods, pat my face, yell for a while, and go back to sleep.

But then I got sick, and then he got sick, and nights were a haze of runny noses, coughing, not-quite-fevers, and misery.

Last night was the first night that both he and I were well enough to sleep. I went to bed at *cough8:45pmcough*, planning to stockpile a few hours at least before one of us was up, and the next thing I knew it was 5AM and he was wanting his usual pre-dawn feeding.

After which we cuddled for a while and then he went back to sleep, holy shit. I stayed up because the house was quiet and frankly my back was sore from lying in one blissfully undisturbed position all night, getting today’s blog post out of the way and thinking about repointing all the brickwork on the house because I just have so much energy, ya’ll.

Sleep. Who knew.

 

 

Responses

  1. It’s a slippery slope from here, friend. You may start wanting to sleep 8 hours EVERY night!

    • I know, I can see developing a taste for it.

  2. I remember those days, when I would give my right arm for five straight hours of sleep…It was amazing how much better I liked my children after a night of solid sleep 😀
    I will never understand those who think sleep training older infants/young toddlers is a bad thing, but then, I’ve always refused to sacrifice myself at the alter of motherhood so take it for what it’s worth…

    • I too avoid that altar like the plague. After all, there are no medals for being a Martyr Mommy.

  3. excellent.

  4. AAAaaahhhhh… Doesn’t it feel so *goooood*? (Geez. Next I’ll be asking “Was it good for you, too, dear?”) Sleep! EVEN BETTER than sex.

    • Sleep *IS* better than sex, at least right now. Ask poor Michael how many times he’s followed me hopefully to the bedroom, pausing only to brush his teeth, to find me not only already asleep but SNORING. Poor, long-suffering man. 😀

  5. Sleeeeeep! Blessed sleep. Not long ago I had a terrible, interrupted night’s sleep and I felt so awful. I thought – this is how I must have felt ALL THE TIME when the boys were small. Once you get some good sleep, you can’t go back!

  6. I always enjoyed it when mothers disparaged sleep training older infants (toddlers, even) while looking like shit because they were sleep deprived. “You aren’t marketing this philosophy very well,” I’d long to say as they slammed back copious amount of caffeine just to get through the day.

  7. Sleep. Is. The. Best. I wish I could bank it.

  8. So happy for you. And your rice-cake-stealing goods-nuzzling face-patting yeller.


Leave a Reply

Categories

