Posted by: Hannah | 12/03/2012

cream cheese pound cake

Many Christmases, my mom presented us with a cream cheese pound cake.

It’s a beautiful cake, even though for some unknown reason half the family hate green candied cherries (??) and insisted that she only use red ones.

It keeps well, freezes for months, impresses guests, and is the best thing ever with a cup of tea on Christmas afternoon.

It’s also the most fatty and calorie-laden non-chocolate dessert I personally have ever encountered. But it’s once a year, and my plan for this year is to cut it up and share it out with friends.

I’m blogging it because my mom told me yesterday that she threw the recipe out last year in a fit of pique because everyone complained about how unhealthy it is while still shoving it into our mouths. So, lest any of you think that my family has somehow discovered a secret to a magical Christmas without fighting or weird icy sulks, this is a concrete example that we have not.

Fortunately, my sister had a copy, and so without further ado, The Cake!:

Christmas Cream Cheese Pound Cake

3 cups sugar
1 & 1/2 cups butter, softened to room temperature
1 package cream cheese, softened to room temperature
6 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup red cherries
1/2 cup green cherries
2 cups all-purpose flour, plus 1 cup all-purpose flour to coat cherries before adding them to the batter

Cream sugar, butter, and cream cheese together in a large bowl, mixing for at least 7 – 10 minutes. Beat in eggs one at a time, mixing well after each egg. Add vanilla, salt, and flour: mix well. Fold in the cherries, whole or chopped depending on your preference.

Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour or until done. (NOTE: My sister reminded me that this cake takes more like 90 minutes to bake, but it really depends on your oven. Also, you can either bake it in a Bundt pan or two loaf pans.)

If you have never made a pound cake before, remember that you CANNOT overmix a pound cake – you’ll notice that there are no leavening agents at all, so the only way to make this cake rise is to beat the living hell out of it at every stage. If you have a stand mixer this will be a lot easier. I don’t yet, so I may live to regret deciding to make one this year.

Update: My mom texted me this afternoon to tell me she found the recipe after all, with a note reading “DO NOT MAKE THIS AGAIN” scribbled in the margin in block caps. So, the good news is she didn’t throw it out. The bad news is she invented an entire scene in her head. Oh, and she’s going to make one this year, too.

Responses

  1. I LOVE pound cake. I’m having some with my tea right now. I don’t think I have ever tried candied cherries though. So you think other fruits might work?

    • Yup, or I remember one year Mom forgetting to buy the cherries and we just made it without. It was still good although in that case I would add a bit more vanilla and maybe a touch more sugar. And I’d use the third cup of flour in the batter.

  2. This isn’t something I would make…but I’m sure it’s delicious. I’m planning on eschewing the no-dairy thing for Christmas because my mom’s signature recipe (and if she throws it out in a menopausal fit I will DIEEEEE) is a chocolate Yule log. Filled with whipped cream. I am dying just thinking about it. SO GOOD NOM NOM NOM.

    • My aunt made us a chocolate Yule log one year and no one – NO ONE – could eat it. We got tooth decay just seeing it sitting there in the fridge.

  3. Is it called pound cake because you gain one every time you eat a slice?

    • That was one of the jokes we told every year that apparently made my mom all stabbity-stab-stab. (I gather a traditional pound cake used a pound of each ingredient; flour, sugar, eggs, butter.)

  4. This sounds FUCKING AMAZING

  5. Oh, I am so making this! Except without the candied cherries. (Hate those things. Ugh, ugh, ugh.) I’m thinking cranberries and walnuts instead, nom.


Leave a Reply

Categories

