Posted by: Hannah | 12/10/2012

mostly-wordless Monday. or something.

It’s pouring down rain here and has been all day. The forecast was for ‘several hours’ of snow, followed by ice pellets, then freezing rain, then rain. Now, I’m not saying I wanted that shitstorm, necessarily, but getting all the littles into their outdoor gear once the snow started only to have it change to rain not ten minutes later was painful.

Especially sad – Pixie and Ron carefully scraping the dusting of accumulated snow on the picnic table into what a charitable and optimistic person would call a ‘pile’. I don’t like winter much, but even I’ll concede it’s a lot less tedious when there is at least some snow to play with.

Anyway, it’s been a dark, soggy, windy day, and every time I read something about the heaps & stacks of festive snow elsewhere in Canada I get a little blue, because frankly in December looking out the window and seeing BROWN everywhere is just kind of depressing.

So! Here are some pictures because I just haven’t got a thought in my head.

Very early morning. Like, it's a Saturday so it's probably 630AM.

Very early morning. Like, it’s a Saturday so it’s probably 630AM.

 

Yes, he's having peanut butter toast for breakfast. No, he's not a year old yet. Feel free to send hate mail. I haven't been trolled in years.

Yes, he’s having peanut butter toast for breakfast. No, he’s not a year old yet. Feel free to send hate mail. I haven’t been trolled in years.

 

Ah. camera-face. Weird, weird face.

Ah. camera-face. Cute, but squinchy.

Christmas has arrived at our house, as it always does during the first week of December. The whole house smells like balsam fir. All weekend people were posting pictures of their trees on Twitter and laughing about how huge they were, but I just laughed because BEHOLD MIGHTY CAESAR, IN ALL HIS GLORY!

My tree, kind of blurry and not fitting in the frame. So I started walking backwards away from it.

My tree, kind of blurry and not fitting in the frame. So I started walking backwards away from it.

I am out of the living room completely and half-way down the hall at this point. Still blurry. But at least most of the picture is in the shot.

I am out of the living room completely and half-way down the hall at this point. Still blurry. But at least most of the tree is in the shot. (We have 8-foot ceilings).

Cookies have been baked, decorated, and consumed:

So precise.

So precise.

More of a freestyle approach than his older brother.

More of a freestyle approach than his older brother.

And my Lego Christmas village has been set up. Oh, how the boys love it. They love it SO MUCH that they decided to craft their own additions to the village, and what kind of mother would I be if I said no?

Ron made a workshop. It has a light-up brick and an exhaust fan to take away bad smells, and a bucket of blue paint. Or so he assured me.

Ron made a workshop. It has a light-up brick and an exhaust fan to take away bad smells, and a bucket of blue paint. Or so he assured me.

This Humvee-like truck is Harry's contribution. Apparently when mini-figs buy Christmas trees, it is Serious Business requiring armoured transport.

This Humvee-like truck is Harry’s contribution. Apparently when mini-figs buy Christmas trees, it is Serious Business requiring armoured transport.

I’ve been listening to Christmas carols a whole lot and last night I wrapped up in my great-grandmother’s quilt to watch It’s a Wonderful Life, and I had a good satisfying cry at the end even though I didn’t play the drinking game my family invented. (Every time someone says “Bailey”, take a sip of Bailey’s. Just a sip! If you took a shot you’d die of alcohol poisoning).

Only nine more working days until my Christmas break! Fa-la-la-la, ya’ll.

Responses

  1. That is one splendid tree. My wee fake one is nothing compared to it.

    Also, I love the lego Christmas village contributions!

    • I love the contributions in theory. It’s sweet, it’s creative, it’s meant to be a family decoration thing and so forth… but MAH VILLAGE. *sobs quietly*

  2. 1) White snow is prettier than brown grass but goddamn it’s cold here.
    2) Peanut butter toast officially makes you the second-worst mother ever, right behind the one who sent their barfing kid to school to sit beside my kid.
    3) That tree is totally Griswold. SQUIRREL!
    4) We use those Scribblers icing tubes to decorate too.
    5) Your Lego stuff is very cute. I cannot make anything Lego to save my life. My attempts at making “houses” and whatnot are sad, at best.

    • 1) When it’s really cold here, it doesn’t snow anyway. We get most of our snowstorms at around the -5C mark. PERFECT.
      2) I can’t believe the barfing kid mother is worse than me. I mustn’t be trying hard enough.
      3) When we cut the baling twine on the tree, the branches actually made an audible TWANG! sound.
      4) I know you do! I got the idea from your cooking blog. That’s your cookie recipe, too. šŸ™‚
      5) Those houses are kits. I’m just following directions. I’m a BIG FAT LEGO CHEATER.

  3. Ugh, Toronto is brown and grossly warm, too. I am so jealous of everywhere else getting beautiful snow and all I see is brown, wet, grey city. I go home to the country for Christmas and I really hope that I get snow for Christmas. I feel ya. And the littles I have can’t really play in the mud and rain, so . . . yuck. šŸ˜¦

    • Exactly! with the mud & rain & being cooped up for months on end. Even getting out in snow for fifteen minutes makes such a difference to wee ones. We had almost no snow last winter and it was wretched.

  4. I would feel exactly the same about the kid-made Lego additions: “But…but… it’s my village and it’s perfect and beautiful and… oh fine, go ahead and WRECK IT with your charming creativity and innovation that DON’T QUITE MATCH.”

    • YES YES YES EXACTLY!!! I grit my teeth every time I look at them. BUILD YOUR OWN VILLAGE, YOU PRECIOUS LITTLE DARLINGS.

  5. Where did you get your Lego village? That sounds amazing.

    As for the Bailey’s drinking game – BRILLIANT.

    • I’ve been collecting the Lego Village for a few years – every Christmas Lego releases a new kit in the series, usually around September / October. You can only get them by ordering directly from the Lego store.

      The Bailey’s drinking game is the most fun ever!


Leave a Reply

Categories

