Posted by: Hannah | 12/14/2012

Newtown

Today was Ron’s Christmas concert at his preschool, and it was precious, adorable, and wonderful, as these things always are.

He has blossomed from the terrified little boy he was a year ago – the little boy who often had to be pried out of my arms by the always-patient teachers at drop-off time. He’s a leader now, and he loves school, and he’s grown so much it makes my heart ache.

We came home and my niece came for a visit, and the house was full of laughter and shrieking and lists of wishes for Santa.

Then I went online and learned the terrible news coming from Newtown, Connecticut.

Kindergarten to grade four. Or the age of my two older sons, and Arthur, and all the little boys and girls who wore silly hats and sang holiday songs this week to rooms of parents, some of whom – me included – were distracted because we needed to get to work, or we have the niggling feeling we forgot someone on the Christmas list, or because the person sitting next to us was wearing too much perfume and taking up too much space on their chair.

So I’ve spent the afternoon in tears for the children of Newtown, and their families. Sad tears, frustrated tears. Because once again our neighbours to the south will argue and posture and go a’politiking about gun control, and in the end it will still be easier in the United States of America for a mentally ill person to get a gun than it is for a rape victim to get an abortion.

Hug your children. Keep perspective. Be happy. Be safe.

Responses

  1. I did post a twitter comment on your comment about this. I just can not fathom why gun control is such a tough issue for us (yes we have a second ammendment but we always forget the second part of it – the right to bear arms in a *militia*). And I am getting beyond pissed at all my fellow American FB/Twitter friends who keep lamenting about how terrible the “world” is, and it’s taking all my self control not to point out that this isn’t a “world” problem but an American one…You know, lest I be labeled a liberal whore.
    And totally on the side I also have a dc client call me to let me know that the court hearing he and his ex had today did not go well and I need to be on the look out in case she shows up. What a day.

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments (I had no idea you were in the States, by the way, but I’m glad to hear your perspective on it). Ah yes, the Second Amendment – as Krusty the Clown said on The Simpsons many years ago, “Guns aren’t toys! They’re for family protection, hunting dangerous or delicious animals, and keeping the King of England out of your face!” It’s the King of England bit that’s the relevant point there. America WON the Revolution, for heaven’s sake.

      The client situation sounds very stressful, too. I think we will all be glad when today is over.

  2. Me too – can’t stop crying, can’t stop thinking about my own wee ones. It’s just terrible. Thanks for putting it into words.

    • I hesitated to blog about it at all when it still happening but I had to. I couldn’t focus on my kids while all that sadness and rage were whirling around in my head.

  3. I had someone today equate semi-automatics with a Ferrari. In terms of “well I don’t NEED one, but I WANT one.”

    I’m about ready to tell her to F8#k off because it’s just unfathomable to me, that attitude. I just, I cannot deal with it. The right to have a weapon of mass murder trumping lives. A country that has been shown to have one of the highest rates of homicide by firearm, a country that repeatedly has mass murder committed by ill people using firearms capable of releasing rounds quickly….but it’s MY RIGHT.

    I’m just so done with it all. Nearly 30 lives, gone. Babies, gone. I just, I can’t. Maybe it’s because I’m Canadian but I just cannot understand it.

    • Yes, I am the same way. This whole business of “gun rights” is completely baffling to me. Your right to own an automatic weapon trumps the rights of everyone else to not get shot? Come on.

  4. I can’t write about it, but I sort of feel like I should write about it, and then I feel like I don’t want to write about anything ever again because what’s the point, and then I read stuff by people I love and it makes sense and I’m glad you wrote about it. I understand that some rights have to be stood up for even if it results in some undesirable effects. I don’t believe for a second that the right to own a machine gun is one of them.

    • Right on. Love you too.

  5. […] Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?  The American gun lobby. I’ve expressed my feelings before – and on Twitter I’ve gotten downright pissy about it – but I’ll say it […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

