Posted by: Hannah | 12/15/2012

perspective

Today we went for breakfast at a restaurant, baked muffins, decorated the gingerbread house, and took the dog for a ramble in the woods while big fluffy Christmas-movie snowflakes fell. Joking around as I bundled everybody back into the van I said “wow, we’ve done a lot today! I’m FunMommy when I don’t have all those extra kids to worry about!” To which Harry replied “yeah, then you’re AngryMommy”.

OUCH.

I realize that through the week I am more abrupt and less likely to just drop everything to have fun, because I’m too busy with The Business of Running the Family™. And I don’t see that changing anytime soon, because there are just so many things to keep track of, so many individual bits & pieces that go into making sure everyone is clothed, fed, and where they need to be when they need to be there.

In fact I bust my ass Monday to Friday so that on the weekends I can relax and play.

I’d like to say I had no idea that my intensity through the week was coming across as anger, but that would be dishonest. I worried that it did, but no one ever mentioned it so I figured I was getting away with it.

Guess not.

I have to be more mindful. Even when it’s hard, I have to try.

 

Responses

  1. Sometimes we have to just keep the trains running on time, you know? And sometimes that means we’re more abrupt than we want to be.

    It sounds like a really nice day, today.

    • Today was lovely. And at dinner Ron ate four (!!) fajitas because he was so hungry from all the activity. But it rattled me, what Harry said. I need to be more careful. I’ve got everything running like a fine Swiss watch but so what, if the kids are getting caught in the gears.

  2. When I was a young-squirt lawyer, I had been appointed as a Guardian ad Litem for some elementary aged kids in a custody battle. During the trial, AS I was questioning the father, whom I found intimidating, the judge called me up to the bench. Covering the microphone, he asked me if anything was wrong (he had been a professor of mine in law school and had specifically selected me to be the GAL for the kids in this case). I told him that nothing was wrong. “Then why are you looking so mean?” he asked. I was startled. I told him I didn’t feel mean, but I WAS very nervous. “Fine” he said, “Go on. Just try to smile more.” GAH. It is true though, when I get frustrated or nervous or irritated, my lips thin out and I REALLY do have a mean face.

    • Ringo Starr said once “I’m not gloomy, it’s just me face”. Replace “gloomy” with “annoyed” and well, I guess that’s me. Oops.


Leave a Reply

Categories

