Posted by: Hannah | 04/09/2013

happy birthday Ron

Five years ago this very night I waddled to a friend’s house to play Guitar Hero.

I was 38 weeks pregnant, and uncomfortable, and ready to be done. But I was also still working, and I hadn’t set up the bassinette or installed the carseat yet, because I figured I had lots of time.

The next morning, I woke up at 5:30, swung my legs out of bed and whoops! my water broke. I cleaned up, crawled back into bed, poked Michael in the arm, and said “well, my water just broke, but I’m not having any contractions yet so I think I’ll just get some more sleep”.

Less than five hours later, my precious middle child, you were born:

me & James

Brand new

And right from the start, you were your own little person, a special cog in our family wheel. Always laughing. Always with a keen sense of the ridiculous. You straight-up laughed when you were barely three weeks old, and you haven’t really stopped.

April 2009 052

First birthday, first cake, first sugar

You love “going on adventures”, whether that’s something as simple as turning left today instead of right, or as crazy as exploring a new city or a museum full of dinosaurs and mummies. For your birthday this year you asked for donair pizza, blue cake with white frosting, and a family trip to the nature museum to see the desert animals exhibit. You never mentioned a party. You like your own family around you, and while you have lots of friends, you’re happiest with just a few familiar faces.

August2010 068

Rissers Beach, age 2

You love being outdoors, and it’s a challenge sometimes to get you to dress for the weather. You’re more into having the right ‘costume’ for the activity. So if it’s baseball you’re playing, you’ll wear a ballcap and cleats even if it’s cold. Or if you want to play hobbits, you’ll wear a hooded robe over your coat and let it drag in the mud while you pretend that the picnic table is The Mines of Moria.

IMG_0373

with big brother, age 3

Your big brother is your best friend in the whole wide world. You guys share a room, all your toys, books, clothes, secrets, wrestling matches, video games, and the most vivid fantasy life I’ve ever seen. It’s a joy and a privilege to watch the two of you together, and to see you Β take your baby brother under your wing. Just today he took a stab at saying your name, and I watched your face light up as you threw your arms around him for a hug.

007

preschool Easter party, age 4

You’ve got a huge heart, my little man, and although you’re getting bigger all the time you still take a few minutes out of every day to climb in my lap “for a little snuggle”.

007

on an adventure, one month ago

You’re just an all-around wonderful guy, and we’re so happy you’re a part of our tribe.

We love you, buddy. Stay as sweet as you are.

Responses

  1. I can’t believe how much time flies! I still think of him as a three year old. Owl is like him with the “adventures”. He’s always trying to convince me I turn a different direction from the usual route. I hope Owl will be as close with his future sibling. Do you think three years difference will be too much?

    • Honestly, I do not think age spacing matters as much as people think. I know siblings who are less than a year apart who never got along, and then again I was always close with my brother and there’s an eight-year age gap. Besides, Harry and Ron are just about three years apart (2 years, 9 months), so there you go.

  2. I’m three years older than my brother and we’re still close despite not having lived together for six years now – in fact I’m hoping we’ll get a flat together in the next couple of years. We played a lot as kids, we fought a lot, and we banded together against the world. Three years is a good gap πŸ™‚

    • Yup, my next-youngest sister is 3 years younger than me. We fought like cats & dogs but loved each other really hard, too. And we still chat via Skype almost every day.

  3. Oh, this post is so sweet! He’s adorable and that first picture of the two of you could melt a heart of ice, I tell you. And I don’t have a heart of ice so I’m all melty. Happy birthday big guy!

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ I wrote it last night when I was all maudlin and “MAH BAAABEEEE”.

  4. This is beautiful!

  5. Happy Birthday, Ron! What a nice post, a birthday present of its own. He’ll love reading it.

    • He did. πŸ™‚ He loved seeing the pictures of himself as a wee one again, too. But tell me, you weren’t really up at 3AM as the timestamp says, were you??

      • Yup. Insomnia. Only 2 here, though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

