Posted by: Hannah | 05/10/2013

tell you what i want, what i really really want

Mother’s Day.

Oh dear.

As a childcare provider, I usually have plans for a nice crafty gift for the moms. Last year we baked cookies and packed them in custom-decorated cookie boxes. This year, I clean forgot that I would need to do something until… get this… 11AM TODAY.

A quick internet search yielded a super-easy handprint card, complete with poorly-metered cheesy rhyme. It’s perfect. I freely admit that I basically took charge of the situation, because as a mom, I like getting a card that looks nice. I do not like getting the four millionth piece of paper with loopy crayon scrawls all over it.

Anyway, the cards look lovely and I can rest easy knowing that at least I didn’t forget, although it was a near miss.

Now, what do I want for Mother’s Day? Really simple stuff. REALLY. Here’s a list:

  1. for the only bowel movements I’m concerned or involved with to be my own
  2. to be allowed to sleep as late as I want in the morning
  3. to have an hour to read a book, uninterrupted, during daylight hours when I’m awake enough to focus on it

That’s it! Simple! Don’t believe marketing. Most moms I know don’t want flowers, chocolates, jewelry, restaurant brunches (especially not that last one)… they want spa days, coffee dates, and solitary trips to the bathroom where no one tries to break down the door.

They want a day to be not-Mom, so that they can be refreshed and rejuvenated for the other 364 days of the year when they are Mom first, everything else second.

Happy Mother’s Day, my lovely friends.

 

 

Responses

  1. OH MY GOD YES!!!!!!!!
    Happy Mother’s Day! 😀

    • Happy Mother’s Day to you, too!

  2. The last few years my Mothers Day “gifts” are something I get for myself. Something I normally wouldn’t spend money on. This year? A couple of cute bags:) Although I’m not up for Mother’s Day brunches I did request Friday-before-Mother’s-Day Chinese take-out. SO MUCH BETTER!!

    • That is a good idea. We had Friday-before-Mother’s-Day pizza. Brilliant.

  3. I want super hot sex with Mr. And some homemade cards.

    • Shall I drop Mr. an email? 😉

  4. Exactly. I don’t know who wants chocolates and flowers. I want to sleep in, not go to the grocery store, and have someone else entertain the kids and plan all the food (without going out to eat) for one entire day.

    • “Plan all the food without going out to eat for one entire day” – YES. Living the dream. That’s a good one. I think I’ll ask for that next year.

  5. “They want a day to be not-Mom”. Ha! That’s brilliant, that is, and exactly right. I have never thought of it in those terms, but YES! That’s IT!

    • It’s the great irony. Marketers are constantly pushing this idea of “spending Mother’s Day with Mom” and unless the mom in question has adult children that she doesn’t often see, I really don’t think that’s what most moms want.

  6. The first one sounds especially amazing :-p

    • Right? So tired of poo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

