Posted by: Hannah | 09/02/2014

post-Pixie

Today is the first day without Pixie.

Louis is taking it hard. Really hard. This is not a kid that deals well with change. At all. We’ve been through this with him many times before. Depending on how big a change is involved, he can be a mess for anywhere from a few days to a few weeks.

Consider this: Pixie has been a near-daily constant in his world for half his life. Her leaving to be replaced with an adorable interloper (more on him later) is rocking the foundations of Louis’ self-perception.

And so, for the moment anyway, Louis is acting out in some of the worst ways possible. He’s having toilet accidents and then lying about it. He’s screaming at the other kids when they don’t ‘share’ the toys (‘share’ in this instance meaning ‘give to Louis right away and then scram’). He’s refusing to help clean up his messes.

This has been going on for a week already but it really escalated today. So… we wait. And try to be patient while also not letting him think that this kind of behaviour is OK.

For me, sans Pixie… things are quieter. Daisy is suddenly talking a lot more, presumably because she can get a word in edgewise. Yes, there have been screaming tantrums, but there hasn’t been any backtalk, sassy behaviour, or bossiness. And lunch was over in 20 minutes instead of dragging on for over an hour. I am seeing how much of the tidying up was done by Pixie, though. And she was my most enthusiastic participant in circle time so that was a bit of a bust this morning.

It’s going to be an adjustment for all of us, clearly. I’ll be curious to see how Pixie reacts to me when we see her at preschool next week.

Now, as for the new guy!

He’s 14 months old. He’s got very fair hair and not much of it, so he looks bald. He’s got bright, inquisitive eyes and is very tall for his age. He walks fairly well as long as he doesn’t stop to think about it; he suffers from a bad case of Looney Tunes gravity, because as soon as he realizes he’s walking he falls over. He likes his milk warmed up and he doesn’t like different kinds of food to touch one another.

He snuggled happily in my lap with his blankie for a couple of songs before his morning nap. Put him down in a strange room still awake and he just… went to sleep. Not a whimper. He woke up and babbled, when I was expecting him to wake up and panic.

He’s super-cute. He’s going to need a blog name eventually but I want to get to know him a little better first.

His parents are some kind of dream clients. Mom is a teacher. They have tons of family support including relatives who are volunteering to take the little guy for a day here and there to give me a break. ME! Bless their hearts.

All in all I’m very hopeful about it, especially since it all came together very quickly. Pixie’s parents gave me official notice on a Monday morning and by that Thursday afternoon it was all sorted out.

Wish me luck for the rest of this transition week!

Responses

  1. Hurray for new beginnings! It can be rejuvenating to shake things up, even if poor Louis doesn’t agree!

    • Yes, a change is as good as a rest, sometimes.

  2. Good luck! I thought it might be a little crazy with poor Louis. Also he is the oldest by quite a bit now, isn’t he? The little guy sounds cute – like a perfect fit!

    • Yes, Louis was four in March; Daisy will be three in November and George in January.

  3. Your newbie sounds sweet. I hope all goes well with transition week. 🙂

    • Thanks, me too!

  4. I have to admit to having some sympathy for Louis, since I come from a family of change-haters, although we tend to rock and moan and stress-eat (okay, that’s just me) rather than lying about toilet accidents and toy-stealing. I’m trying to think of the strategies that we and Angus’s teachers used to help him, but none of them seem applicable here. Good luck!

    • I feel for him, I really do. I just wish he would act out in a way that didn’t involve urine.

      He was a bit better today, especially at the start of the day, but as time wore on he got worse. He’s also decided that naps are for losers & communists, which is perfectly reasonable at his age, but it means he’s tired, too.

      I think getting back to preschool will help. I hope so, anyway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

