Posted by: Hannah | 11/03/2014

wish i was on city water

Odd Burst of Productivity continues. Like, at this moment I am irritated that I have to work rather than cleaning yet more unholy cluttered spots and messes. Also the water is completely shut off now because the plumbers are here… I probably should have closed today. Now that I think about it, it’s likely breaking some sort of rule to have a dayhome and no running water (even though we have drinking water & realistically it’s not a big deal as long as we don’t do any messy craft projects.)

Anyway, this morning I sorted out three Rubbermaid bins full of mittens, hats, boots, scarves, and assorted detritus. THREE BINS. Why do I have three bins? No one knows. It seems ridiculous to have three bins of winter outdoor gear not counting snowpants and coats, and yet I was bracing myself to go buy yet more stuff this week. Now I have a bin of just footwear that’s too small for Harry and Ron but too big for George… a carry bag with mine & Michael’s things… and then a large bin with enough stuff for all three kids for the whole winter, as long as they don’t lose anything.

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA I KNOW DELUSIONS ARE FUN.

I looked at our family calendar the other day and realized that we have stuff scribbled in for every weekend in November. Two birthday parties, a company Christmas party, Santa Claus parade, Warhammer tournament, Hal-Con Sci-Fi Convention, swimming lessons, art classes, baseball clinic… It’s a little alarming when I look at it, so even though it feels wrong to be planning for the holidays this early I am going to start my baking likely this weekend. Thank goodness for the freezer.

As I write this, the kids are eating lunch and the plumbers are conferring. They don’t know I can hear them. They are saying things like “well, we need to tell her what’s going on and see what she wants to do” and “this is just worn out” and “I’m not sure why it won’t hold pressure”. All of these sound like expensive and time-consuming things. Meanwhile I can’t wash clothes, or dishes, or faces, and I think I might just quietly curl into a ball and weep for a while.

Responses

  1. Last winter our furnace and hot water heater died nearly simultaneously just before Christmas and I was ready to throw in the towel on home ownership. If it’s not one thing it’s another. The urge to rent an apartment and make everything else someone else’s problem sounded so good. Sigh.

    • I’ve got one word – CONDO.

      I find it ironic that I spent my early 20s yearning to get out of apartments and into a house, because OMG WHYYYY.

  2. Eeeee that does NOT sound good about the plumbers. But hey, at least you have mitts? Or something?

    • Stupid plumbing.

  3. Holy winter gear! It’s so hard to pare down when you know there is another kiddo about to grow into a size. I’m sure they won’t lose anything.

    Delusions *are* fun.

    Maybe if you offer to organize their plumbing van they won’t charge you for their work?

    I am so good at delusions!

    • I’m going to sic Michael on them. He’s very angry. And since he works for a general contractor who could conceivably need the services of a plumber, I suppose it’s possible that he might have some leverage there.

      • Oooh! Leverage. I like this. I mean, really. It’s a lot of money for not a lot of information or help. šŸ˜¦

  4. WAH! Stupid well. Stupid plumbers.

    I joined a Freecycle group on Facebook and have been getting rid of old toys and kids’ clothes and winter stuff. It’s giddy-making. Except when they don’t pick it up and it sits in a bag on the front step for two weeks, but that happens less often.

    • I donate a LOT of stuff to Value Village.

      Of course after going through three kids, anything left tends to be in tattered rags that I wouldn’t want to inflict on anyone. TATTERED RAGS, my youngest looks like a hobo. šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

