Posted by: Hannah | 11/10/2014

1/3 of the way

I found a picture of our good friend Star-Lord on the Hal-Con Facebook page today. I left a comment thanking her again for her kindness when meeting George. She replied right away, saying that meeting him made her whole weekend, and asking me to “say hi from Star-Lord and tell him to keep being awesome!”

Anyone who makes fun of cosplayers in my hearing again is going to get an earful from me. Certainly my (admittedly limited) experience with them has been overwhelmingly positive. I just wish I was even a tiny bit crafty so I could play, too.

Today Baby Charlie arrived with a runny nose and a cough, because as my wise friend Not Mary P pointed out to me once, a small child starting daycare will average one cold a month for the first year. This is month 3, cold 3, and by mid-afternoon I’d also started brewing the same virus.

You know how I know I have a great husband? He drove to my favourite Chinese restaurant and came back with a large vat of hot & sour soup for me; it’s my go-to remedy for colds and sore throats, and having just finished the first bowl I don’t actually feel like my throat is lined with metallic shards anymore.

Now I’m curled up on the couch under a fuzzy blanket, getting ready to watch as many episodes of The Mindy Project as it will take to make me feel completely better. THIS COULD BE A LOT OF EPISODES, GUYS.

Harry is at a friend’s house for his first-ever sleepover not at my mom’s. I’m surprised at how twitchy I am. The house feels weirdly empty and I’m kind of wishing he’d call, just to say good night. Silly, I know. But there it is. He studiously practiced his recorder for ten minutes before he left. We’ve moved on from Hot Cross Buns and are now into Au Clair de la Lune. He’s already reading simple music and as much as the squawking can be a bit much sometimes, I’m pleased. I was a huge band geek so I freely admit I want them to play at least one instrument.

Did you know that in 1986 there was a made-for-TV movie based on The Mouse & The Motorcycle? It’s on Netflix. Ron and I are reading the series together and when he spotted the movie, nothing would do but that he watch it. Tonight we gave it a try. He loved it, and I wanted to, but the mouse. THE MOUSE. Everything about the… weird puppet? stop-motion? taxidermied actual mouse possessed by Satan? … I don’t know what the hell it was… it freaked me out completely. It wasn’t cute. It was just alarming.

Final thought – I took the four littles and the dog to the park today; the weather was just perfect, a clear cloudless sky and temps around 14C or so. At no point did either dog or children misbehave in any way.

We saw lots of other people out and about, and I amused myself by keeping a rough tally of how many repetitions of the same few key phrases I heard:

  • “You’ve got your hands full!” (7 times)
  • “Are these all yours?” (5 times)
  • “Look at that gorgeous hair!” (3 times, about Daisy, who sports a curly out-of-control mop of bright red tresses)
  • “My dog is very friendly but sometimes he knocks little ones down!” (4 times, all as massive bouncy dogs jumped on small kids)

It’s funny. I’ve been keeping track, especially of instances of “you’ve got your hands full”, and I can’t actually remember the last time I left the house with more than two kids and didn’t hear that. I don’t understand what it’s supposed to convey. Sympathy? Schadenfreude? WHO KNOWS??

 

 

Responses

  1. Your husband is a gem, clearly! Hot and Sour soup is awesome for scratchy throats and stuffy noses.

    I hope all is well today!

    “You’ve got your hands full.” So much nothing in that statement. I usually smile and say nothing, unless I am full of sass and feeling feisty, in which case I quip, “I am a mother, my hands are never full.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

