Posted by: Hannah | 04/01/2015

hello, April

March is over for another year.

Thank goodness.

Today the air is mild-ish, the sky is blue and cloudless, and enough of the ice has melted out of my driveway that I can see how much the frost heave has changed the topography.

I’ll take it.

Pulling myself up out of a despondency spiral is agonizing, and the progress is so slow that sometimes I don’t even notice when things have improved. It starts with taking a moment to acknowledge every tiny task that I complete and every small victory, no matter how insignificant it seems.

So far this week, I have:

  1. done all the Easter shopping, and picked up Ron’s present for his birthday next week
  2. sent out the invitations for Ron’s birthday party
  3. completed the paperwork for two health insurance claims
  4. cooked dinner every night (yesterday lasagna, today baked beans; still in snow-covered comfort food mode over here)
  5. gone a whole twenty or thirty minutes at a stretch without the theme song for The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt running through my head on a glorious auto-tuned loop
  6. cleaned the bathrooms
  7. dragged a month’s worth of recycling to the curb
  8. survived a very contentious meeting at the school, AND refused to back down when two older men in attendance tried to take the floor while I was talking, thank you very much
  9. taken four kids to the library for playtime, and talked to two moms I don’t know at all without having a total social anxiety meltdown
  10. caught up on some laundry and vacuuming

Some of these are pretty small, I know, but when I’m in full-on fuck me why is it still winter even simple things like filling out an insurance form make me shrivel into a little ball of sorrow and hopelessness.

I’m in no way at Peak Efficiency. The library trip was this morning and the school meeting was last night, and frankly I’m exhausted – I’m really looking forward to some time this evening to put in some earplugs and refuse all human contact.

Ask me how glad I am that I take Good Friday AND Easter Monday off. (Hint: SO GLAD.)

Is it spring where you are?

Responses

  1. It is spring! Kind of. It’s going to snow on the weekend but that’s Calgary spring.

    That is a very productive list. I love to make lists of things that I need to do (or have done) and then cross them off. It makes me feel like I’m really accomplishing things, even if those things are small things like “shine the sink”. (I seriously shine my sink regularly because of you and the Fly Lady). xo

    So glad it’s April!

  2. Sounds like you’re doing awesomely! I know how appallingly hard it can be to pull yourself out of a slump, but hopefully the weather will carry on improving and boost you up a bit more 🙂

  3. That Kimmie Schmidt theme song is the biggest earworm (damn it). The show, however, was just what I needed to get through some S.A.D. this Winter. Come on Spring!

  4. Glad your weather has been better lately!


Leave a Reply

Categories

