Posted by: Hannah | 11/08/2015

day 8

This morning when I woke up, I still hadn’t heard anything from the potential new clients. I became convinced they were never, ever going to call. I paced, and fussed, and did six loads of laundry and paced some more, and finally at 10AM I sat down on the couch, aimlessly flipped through a Canadian Tire flyer for a while, and then burst into tears.

At first my tears were just from the sheer stress of waiting, but then it morphed into the kind of hormonal weeping that only comes from your second period in a month. I found myself sobbing to Michael that no, I do not want any more children, good god, don’t be insane, but I know my time to actually make that decision myself is waning.

“My ovaries are trying to trick me!” I wailed. “I don’t want more kids but they are trying to make me think that I do!”

I just LOVE when I have a hysterical meltdown, don’t you? It’s grand.

I finally got under some semblance of control and went to find a tissue. My phone was next to the tissue box and hey! there was an email waiting from the clients.

They said I am definitely exactly what they’re looking for. The new little girl starts on November 17th.

Terry dancing

This does mean that Arthur will be moving on. Telling Ron was rough. Arthur has been coming here five days a week since 2011; since Ron was barely three years old, for further context. They have grown up together, in a lot of ways. Add in that Ron doesn’t like change, and it was a pretty emotional afternoon.

To try and cheer him up and take his mind off things, Michael brought out an old board game of his called “Globetrotters” and taught us how to play. The kids were instantly hooked. We played two games – the second one lasted for two and a half hours – and we had a great time.

If you have teens, or younger kids who are used to trickier game mechanics (think “Settlers of Catan” or “Ticket to Ride”), it’s worth seeking out this game on eBay or other resale sites. It’s just FUN. Plus you learn some 1984 global geography! That’s always a joy. Back in the U.S.S.R, baby.

 

Responses

  1. I’m so glad this had a happy ending, because damn. Two period in a month–Mother Nature is a bitch. If that happened to me, I’d have the hysterical meltdown in my doctor’s office wailing, “Get it out get it out get it out!”

  2. YAY!!!! GREAT NEWS (about the client, not about the 2x/month period, obviously). I will now both hijack your comment section and remain vague about it: I am 46 years old and perimenopause was becoming completely unacceptable due to WAY too often periods lasting far too long causing me to become anemic, random middle of the night panics, night sweats, etc. Last month I “took steps” to deal with it and can report this is the most normal month I’ve had since before I got pregnant with Youngest (7 years ago) and I don’t even know what to do with myself. I am so hoping this lasts!

  3. Yay! Happy for you!

    We have the junior catan game and it is great! Owl can play it pretty well and nearly win but it is interesting for us grown ups too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

