Posted by: Hannah | 11/26/2015

day 26

A couple of days ago on Twitter I listed all the planned activities for the two PD days, and joked that I would be buying my Christmas Baileys a few days early this year. Imagine my surprise when someone local to me said he had an unopened bottle of Forty Creek Cream Liquor that needed a home. (Haven’t we all fallen victim to the liquor store tasting table? I know I have. *remembers ill-conceived bottle of Goldschlager*)

We made arrangements to meet up and this kindly smiling fellow gave me a totally random holiday gift.

Honestly? I’ve been smiling all afternoon and not because I have opened the bottle yet. It was a nice gesture. He and I have talked politics before, and are on pretty opposite ends of the spectrum, but the conversation is always respectful. He certainly didn’t have to drive into a busy box-store business park on the day before Black Friday just to give me a bottle of booze, but he did, and it was just such a random kindness that guess what! My holiday mojo has raised its weary head and is peeking around.

I’m certainly going to pay it forward; I’m thinking now of what small, unexpected thing I can do for someone that will give them a lift. I’m smiling even more at the thought of it.

There is a grandma who volunteers every day at George’s preschool. I know she won’t get gifts like the other two staff do because her name isn’t down as a “teacher”, but she works just as hard and is very sweet & patient with the kids. I think she’s the one I’d like to do a little something extra for. Now I just have to figure out what that something is.

Responses

  1. Are you sure she won’t get gifts? We had June, who volunteered when Angus AND Eve were at nursery school, and she was SHOWERED with stuff at the end of every year – everyone adored her and was eager to give money for her present. Regardless, it’s nice of you to think of it. And nice of buddy to give you the hooch out of the goodness of his heart. Random acts of kindness really are something special.

    • I’m betting she won’t get as many as the others, because she starts & ends each day a little sooner than the two teachers; a lot of the parents don’t even realize she’s there. And I know at the end of last year she didn’t get much of anything. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

