Posted by: Hannah | 02/03/2017

in praise of naps

Naps are the best.

I say this as a person, a parent, and a professional childcare provider. Nothing – NOTHING – is a more effective tool in your arsenal than a nap. A nap for you will help you to be focused, patient, and productive. A nap for your kids is developmentally-necessary, plus it makes it easier for them to be pleasant and fun little people.

Ask a cat. Naps are the shit, yo.

It’s one thing I really miss about my pre-child years – the ability to just curl up on the couch with a blanket and have a nap. Last night, for example. I got off work a little early and the sun was shining, so we bundled the kids up and went sledding for an hour before dinner. We had a very simple meal (grilled cheese and Campbell’s tomato soup) and afterwards I felt so sleepy and relaxed… I plopped down in the recliner and grabbed a fuzzy blanket. I could feel that lovely heaviness spreading through my limbs. My eyelids drooped. My breathing slowed…

… and George shoved a foam dinosaur in my face while he yelled MOM I MADE A QUETZALCOATLUS, THAT’S A KIND OF PTERANODON.

… and Harry and Ron started squabbling in the kitchen about the correct way to load the dishwasher.

… and the dog started to whimper because he needed to go to the bathroom.

… and the cats started play-fighting because it’s winter and Mad Max is getting shack-wacky.

… and I knew I had to go out in the cold over icy roads to take Ron to violin lessons.

And thus I shook off the blanket and got up, and in the end I was awake bloody late again, because at bedtime I can’t stop my brain from fretting about the tangerine shit-gibbon to the south of us and end up watching TV far too late.

This of course then means that come the afternoon I’m ready for a nap again.

It makes it that much more infuriating when the littles fight their naps, lemme tell you.

CHILD, DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND THAT NAPS ARE A PLATONIC GOOD??

 

 

Responses

  1. “Tangerine Shit Gibbon”

    *dies dead*

  2. I am actually a terrible napper, because I can’t just have a quick nap. If I fall asleep it’s going to be a couple of hours. But that said, I have fallen asleep on the couch accidentally for a few minutes and I definitely feel refreshed. But usually no naps for me 😦 sad panda.

  3. Amen to all of this. I miss napping. And sleeping in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

